Welcome! Spring 2023 Newsletter Serie

**Upcoming Events:** 

**Departmental Seminars** 

## Lunchtime Seminars

### **ZoGSS Student Socials**

 Most Friday's at 7pm there will be a ZoGSS social (hosted by Sam Miess). The location varies so make sure to join the facebook for updates!



# **ZoGSS** Newsletter

# May 2023

I hope everyone had a good spring semester! The semester is almost done, and we have a fun summer coming up!



Also, as graduate students, we have plenty of research this summer!



## **Outreach Committee Update**

**Nature Camp** is upcoming! ZoGSS will be helping organize an activity this June 5<sup>th</sup> – June 9<sup>th</sup> at Sanborn Lake! We would love plenty of people to help with the planning of the activity. Look for an email in the ZoGSS Listserv with more details.



## **Upcoming Conferences:**

Many conferences are starting to be in-person this year, but some have also moved to hybrid settings. Please consider attending/presenting at those which best fit your interests/research. There also may be opportunities to carpool and/or share housing with other grad students (COVID protocols and comfort levels permitting).

If you have another conference or information to add to future newsletters, please email one of the executive officers (Sam, Victoria, Desi, or Calvin).

# The International Herpetological Symposium (IHS) Conference

In person in Chicago, IL July 25-July28 Website

This conference is focused on anything and everything herps. So, if you love Reptiles or Amphibians or just want to hear about awesome research, it's a great conference for you. If anyone is looking for roommates, email us so we can post in the ZoGSS listserv.

# Congrats to the New ZoGG Committee Members:

#### **Executive Committee:**

Olivia Aguiar: President Ethan Strange: Vice President Nazari: Secretary Himidu Pitigala: Treasurer

#### **Fundraising Committee:**

Ben Lafond

AJ Hager

**Planning Committee:** 

Allison Bryant

Seminar Committee:

Parna Ghosh

Award Committee:

Himidu Pitigala

**Technology Committee:** 

Alejandro Marcillo

Graduate Committee:

Dani Kirsch

**Lunchtime Seminars:** 

Jesse Hurd

**Faculty Council:** 

Hailey Freeman

Jamaal Jacobs

Sam Miess

**GPSGA:** 

Ashley Baragary

**Outreach Committee:** 

Phoebe Will

Sam Miess

Desi Wilson

#### Workshop Committee:

Benedicta Akaribo

# Congratulations to Himidu Pitigala and Sam Miess: Winner of the ZorroBucks Scholarship!

ZorroBucks Scholarship Program is made possible by Drs. Stanley Fox and Susana Perea. It is primarily to have fun and to help all the graduate students be included in the department like the important component that they are. Plus, it awards real money, which is always welcome. A ZorroBucks Scholarship is another item to include in the winner's CV. The frequency and amount of the awards are unpredictable and irregular, which promotes cybernetic alacrity and perspicacity. **Make sure that you are checking your emails from Stanley** for your chance to win!



## **Contact Us**

#### **Executive Committee:**

Sam Miess – President Victoria Roper – Vice President Desi Wilson – Secretary Calvin Schaefer – Treasurer

#### **Fundraising Committee:**

Sam Miess & AJ Hager Planning Committee: Ryan Koch Seminar Committee: Angela Riley Award Committee: Dani Kirsch Technology Committee: Alejandro Marcillo Graduate Committee: Calvin Schaefer Lunchtime Seminars: Jessica Hurd Faculty Council: Sneha Dharwadkar, Kiley Cox, & Benedicta Akaribo

## GPSGA: Sabiha Alam, Casey Sergott

Outreach Committee:

Desi Wilson, Owen Edwards, & Angela Riley

Workshop Committee:

Sneha Dharwadkar

# **Meet Your Peers**

students in our department.

Baum lab – David Berman, Teri Cocke, Carrie Klase\*, Ashley Knoch, Tyler Spresser\* Belden lab – Ryan Grewe, Sarah Hileman, Carrie Klase\*, Will Mimbs, Shauni Windle\* Bolek lab – Allison Bryant, Ryan Koch, Ryan Shannon, Michael Ellison Bruck lab – Rachel Hamrock\*, Paige Stevens\* Cabrera-Guzmán lab – Taylor Carlson\* Dzialowski lab – Bobby Bowser, Samuel Miess, Meghan Martin, Mitchell Nagel Fox lab – Taylor Carlson\* French lab – Ethan Strange Grindstaff lab – Kiley Cox, Angela Riley, Victoria Roper, Sierra Williams, Hailey Freeman Jeyasingh lab – Parna Ghosh, Yetkin Ipek Lovern lab – Rachel Hamrock\*, Paige Stevens\*, Jay Walton Luttbeg lab – Dani Kirsch, Olivia Aguiar McCullagh lab – Sabiha Alam, Amita Chawla, Andrea Gensky, Jessica Hurd, Luberson Joseph, Casey Sergott McMurry lab – Shauni Windle\* Minghetti lab – Justin Scott, Stacey Herriage Moen lab – Mitchell Aldridge **Reichert lab** – Alejandro Marcillo, Himidu Pitigala, Jain PK, Bailee Augustino, Phoebe Will, Kaleb Banks Stephens lab – Benedicta Akaribo Van Den Bussche lab – Denise Thompson Waldman lab – Samantha Garza, A.J. Hager, Ben LaFond, AJ Hager Wilder lab – Colton Herzog, Jacob Reeves, Tyler Spresser\* Wogan lab – Sneha Dharwadkar, Calvin Schaefer, Desi Wilson, Neil Balchan, Katarina Mapes Zhang lab – Owen Edwards, Jamaal Jacobs \*indicates co-advised arad students ZoGSS serves as the representative organization and voice of the graduate student body of the Department of Integrative Biology at Oklahoma State University. Our mission is to provide professional and social opportunities for the graduate