2016 Zoology Awards


2016banquet a

The 2016 Annual Zoology Awards celebration was held in Click Hall at the Conoco Phillips Alumni Center on 21 April, 2016. The banquet was well attended by generous donors, award winners, departmental staff and faculty and their families. Thank you to those whose contributions made these awards possible. Thanks also to staff for organizing such a succesful event. Award winners are listed below.

 Undergraduate Students

  • Outstanding Zoology Sophomore: Sam Kimbrough
  • Outstanding Zoology Junior: Eric Bates
  • Outstanding Zoology Senior: Mylissa Stover
  • Outstanding Physiology Senior: Kelsey Anderson
  • Outstanding Zoology Senior: Alexandra Oppenborn
  • Edwin Chappabitty, Jr. MD Scholarship:Bradley Smiling
  • Dr. G. Michael Steelman Scholarship: Rachel Reisch
  • Dr. Raymond Dixon Scholarship: Maggie Pearce
  • Dr. Raymond Dixon Scholarship in Rural Health: Katie Taylor
  • Dr. Ron and Sarion Austin Family Scholarship in Rural Dentistry: Thomas Lawlis
  • McAlester Regional Health Center Externship: Kevin Varela

Graduate Students

  • Outstanding Zoology Masters Student: Ryan Shannon
  • Outstanding Zoology Doctoral Student: Kyle Gustaffson
  • Wilhm Zoology Teaching Assistant - Masters:Cassandra Bratcher
  • Wilhm Zoology Teaching Assistant - Doctoral: Denise Thompson
  • S. L. “Bud” Burks Memorial Graduate Research Award: Adam Simpson
  • Waters Grant-in-Aid of Research: Danielle Perryman
  • Wilhm Graduate Student Travel Award: Jiao Feng, Madeliene Naylor
  • Dr. Bryan Glass Student Fellowship in Integrative Biology: Enrique Santoyo
  • Zoology Graduate Student Society Best Lunchtime Seminar Presentation: Christina Anaya (fall) & Lynne Beatty (spring)     


  • Zoology Graduate Student Society Margaret S. Ewing Outstanding Mentor Award: Dr. Barney Luttbeg

2016banquet b